Chalkboard Polka Dots

Here’s an easy and inexpensive idea for using chalkboard paint in a limited area on a wall in a child’s room – confine it inside a painted shape. I used dots, but the shape could be anything –  flowers, animals, spaceships….. It works best if the shapes are a little loose/imperfect.

How To:

Drawing the Dots: First, loosely draw the polka dot shape(s) on the wall with a piece of chalk to establish the general placement and size. Then push a tack into the center of the circle. Make a knotted loop in the end of the string, loop it around the tack, pull the string taut, and tie a piece of chalk to the string where it lines up with your loosely drawn outline. The tack/string/chalk will work like a compass if you hold the string taut and draw the outline with the chalk. Make the string a little shorter and repeat, drawing another circle inside the first. I didn’t try to make it perfect, because I wanted it to be loose and fun, and because I knew I’d never be able to get it perfect even if I tried. I repeated this for the other polka dots.

Painting the Dots: I painted the colored borders with latex interior wall paint with a 1/2″ artist brush – again, I didn’t try to be perfect. I braced the heel of my hand against the wall to stabilize my hand so I could get a nice smooth edge. After the paint dried, I used brush-on chalkboard paint, applying it with a 2″ latex paint brush. You could apply a second coat if necessary.

Finishing up: After all the paint has thoroughly dried, I used a damp cloth to wipe off any remaining chalk lines. Tic tac toe anyone?

7 thoughts on “Chalkboard Polka Dots

  1. Amazing idea…i would love to do this on my kids room wall and thanks for the link on how to make your own chalkboard paint :)

  2. I love the polka dot Idea. I read somewhere that you can make blackboard paint by adding grout (I think) to ordinary paint, making it less expensive and also more colorful.

Leave a Reply

