Remodeling a Small Kitchen

I had a weird hood thingy that didn’t function and a narrow full height cabinet that wasn’t full height on the inside.  I also had no counter space around my stove for prep.  It was an awkward space.

I gathered many kitchen images from various magazines. Then looked around town and gathered samples of different material & colors – paint, tile, countertop, cabinet styles, flooring, appliances. It was kind of fun, but also bit overwhelming.

I had no plan for major changes in my full kitchen, but I did want to do something about this particular area.  So, I called in the girls for “My Kitchen needs Help – Part II”.

We brainstormed, sketched, played around with the colors, materials and dimensions. Piddled in the computer some, measured twice and measured again.  We ended up with something that I liked and would become an accent to the rest of my kitchen.  And of course, there had to be lunch.

I still couldn’t imagine how the space would look or feel with a full width cabinet.  So, I made a full size mock up of the cabinet we had sketched to make sure it wasn’t too big and felt proportionally correct in the space.  Just cardboard, tape measure, utility knife and some duct tape did the trick.

Once I knew that it would work in the space, I hired Raincap Construction to help with the demo, cabinet build and appliance install.

I still plan to paint the cabinet and wall. Next on the agenda, however; will be the tile installation. We’ll get to that the next time we gather at my house.  Scarey and fun.

~ MJ

If you like this post you may also like:

Leave a Reply

